Go Back...?

10-05-2024


Hello! 'Tis I, the creator of the site. This site (albeit being a very genuine fanpage) has no purpose other than to take up precious internet space. I paid neocities $5/mo to let me make this site. If you'd like to see my other project, 7yc1a draws, I have the link right there for you. Both of these are very very simple, because I have very very little coding experience. In fact, I think the only coding I've ever done in an academic setting was during middle school. But I happen to think coding is very neat and whats a better way to learn than to pay $5/mo for a website no-one will look at except me! (LOL)

Jokes and introductions aside, this is a fanpage. And it is about Jonathan Hultén. So I should write about that. (what have I gotten myself into...)
I am a huge fan of Jonathan's work both in Tribulation and beyond. His artistic expression and incredible vocal range has enraptured me over and over, and while I am no longer as immersed as I was back in 2023, I still feel like he is one of my favorite artists I've ever encountered. I've painted him and drawn him several times, and the amount of people I've introduced him to... I feel as if I act as essentially a free advertisement for him! I've even hand embroidered a small jacket patch of him. And gotten pins of his album artwork. And bought physical copies of his music. When I write it all down, it sounds like I'm a little obsessed. I probably was last year, to be fair-- but I promise I'm not obsessed in the negative sense. If you're on this page and you don't know who jonathan is, for some reason, I really encourage you to check him out!

His music is so striking that you can hear his influence through the lyrics and tone in albums from the band Tribulation, before he left. Him and Adam Zaars have talked about their experience writing the songs together-but-separately in the past, and while each album has a distinctive feel to it, some of them have this mysticism and elegant feel to them that is very noticeable in Jonathan's personal work as well. His absence from Tribulation is especially notable now that they are releasing new music, as the genre has switched yet again to a whole different sound. Albums such as Down Below and The Children of the Night carry a very gothic feel to them-- songs like Winds are energetic and feel as if they are some sort of enlightenment-- and the album art for Down Below is hand-drawn by Jonathan himself. His contribution is unmistakeable, and after his departure I feel even more respect for his involvement. But he is more than a past guitarist for Tribulation! His independent album, Chants From Another Place (where I got the name for this site), and his various singles are all a masterpiece in their own right. The art and tone of each album and single has a very mystical vibe, and his voice is almost akin to something like a siren. He performs live often, and his stage performances are an entirely different spectacle: Jonathan Performing

In my opinion, his performances and music makes him seem like an otherworldly being.